Happy Birthday to my baby girl.

Dear Goose,

Seven years ago today you came into my life and I became a father for the first time.  In the seven years that has passed I think you have taught me almost as much as I’ve taught you.  I’ve seen you grow from a tiny infant into a sweet little girl who is as sassy as the day is long.  I’ve seen you in your highest, playing with friends, and I’ve seen your heart break when you’re sad, whether you found out we were going to move, or more recently when your mom and I had to tell you that your first two pets had passed away.  You have taken each obstacle thrown at you and overcome it with grace.  When your mom and I told you that we were going to move, you were understandably upset.  We did our best to accommodate you. I think it’s safe to say you love where we live now and don’t want to go back.  You are an amazing big sister, always looking out for your brother.  Bubba is lucky to have you as his sissy.

I want you to know that I wake up every day trying to be a good father to you.  I don’t always succeed, but I try my best.  Your mom and I always say to do your best, I hope you know I’m trying.  If it weren’t for you and your brother, I wouldn’t be the person I am today.  I am a better person because of you and bubba.  It hasn’t been the easiest seven years and I know that I’m not the easiest person to love (just ask your mom), but I can’t say that I would change anything.  I can’t wait to see what the future holds for our family. I’m not sure when I’ll show this to you, but I want you to know that I love you so much.  Happy Birthday, goose. I love you.

Leave a Reply

